

Global Law Students Association AGM minutes

Date	17 October
Time	1pm
Place	Zoom

Attendees	Prasanth Kapilan, Michelle Benington, James Dennis, Belle Murray, Matthew Ku, Ilan Slonim, Isabella Jones, Keith Lu, Aalishna Alag, Sara Lemley, Jessica Bruce, Sabrina Warwick-Smith, James Xue, Elle Henriksen, Yamna Zohra Kanwar, Angela Wong, Christine An, Emma Cabi, Grace Park, Jessica Murchie, Mimi Chester, Minju Kwak, Rebecca Vasilas, Sophie Hondros, Tina Meng	
Apologies	Emmanuel Choi	
Proxies	Signourney Goss	
Minute Taker	Michelle Benington	
Chair	Prasanth Kapilan	

ltem	Description	
1	Meeting officially opened at 1.05pm	
2	Confirm 2020 AGM Minutes	
	25 in favour of 2020 AGM minutes passing, 0 against, 0 abstentions	
3	Confirm 2021 SGM Minutes	
	25 in favour of 2021 SGM minutes passing, 0 against, 0 abstentions	
4	Receive from the Committee portfolios reports	
	Executive Director	
	Spoke about Constitutional Changes, Standard Operating Procedure, and supporting	
	the JD students abroad	
	<u>Vice President</u>	
	Ran numerous very successful events, supported other portfolios	
	<u>Marketing</u>	

Built Social Media Profiles over the year

Events & Engagement

Spoke about events they have run, some of which events had more success that others in terms of engagement, the podcast (50% of downloads outside Australia)

Publications & Business Developments

Built on 2020 guidebook with additional interviews and a chapter on online networking, also printed less copies due to environmental concerns (80 instead of the usual 150). Managed to distribute some of the copies. Semester 2 focus was making a prospectus to look at contacts for next year to built sponsorship

International Student Liaison

Had mooting competition held in association with the AALA and had a supreme court judge for the grand final, fortnightly English Classes were focused on legal skills. Hosted a number of other events

Alumni

Mentoring program was kickstarted this year, using polls to guage participation for future events. Hoping to have an end of year Alumni Evening. Also created an exit procedure

5 Receive the President's report

Worked on relationship with GSA and MLS faculty. Updated handbooks and policy for COVID-19.

Receive and consider the financial statement submitted by the Association to members

We had a loss but only because both guidebooks were published in the one year. President and Treasurer certified that the statements gave a true and fair view of the financial performance and position of the GLSA during the financial year ending 30 June 2021.

23 in favour of the report, 3 abstentions. Passed.

7 Special Business

Special resolution 1:

25 in favour, 1 abstention. Resolution successfully passed

Special resolution 2:

26 in favour, 1 abstention. Resolution successfully passed

Special resolution 3:

26 in favour, 1 abstention. Resolution successfully passed

Special resolution 4:

26 in favour, 1 abstention. Resolution successfully passed

Special resolution 5:

25 in favour, 2 abstentions. Resolution successfully passed

	-		
	Special resolution 6: 27 in favour, 0 abstention. Resolution successful passed		
	Special resolution 7:		
	26 in favour, 1 abstention. Resolution successfully passed		
	Special resolution 8:		
	26 in favour, 1 abstention. Resolution successfully passed		
	Special resolution 9:		
	25 in favour, 2 abstention. Resolution successfully passed		
	N		
8	Vote on E&E Applicants		
_	Tina was voted in as E&E director (18 in favour) six votes for Yamna		
9	Announcement of the 2022 Committee		
	President: Aalishna Alag		
	Executive Director: Sabrina Warwick-Smith		
	Treasurer: Angela Wong		
	Vice Presidents: Elle Henriksen & Keith Lu		
	PBD Directors: Isabelle Murray Minju Kwak		
	E&E Directors: Han Meng & Matthew Ku		
	Marketing & Communications Directors: Sigourney Goss & Emma Cabi		
	International Student Liaison Directors: Jessie Murchie & Ilan Slonim		
	Alumni Director: Sophie Hondros		
10	Consider any ad hoc business		
	None		
11	Meeting closed at AGM at 2.24pm		

Signed		
	M Benington	Prasanth Kapilan
	Michelle Benington	Prasanth Kapilan
	Executive Director 2021	President 2021